Home NewsEurope All the World Cup winners and the scores since 1930

All the World Cup winners and the scores since 1930

by admin

Brazil beat Italy 3-2 on penalties (0-0 AET)

The primary ever goalless World Cup ultimate and likewise the primary time that the ultimate was selected penalties, Brazil took their fourth title. 

Within the decisive shoot-out, the primary two penalties had been missed – Marcio Santos for Brazil and Franco Baresi for Italy – however Brazil then scored their subsequent three, with Daniele Massaro lacking Italy’s fourth. Roberto Baggio wanted to attain to maintain Italy within the contest however blazed his shot over the bar. 

France 1998, July 12

France beat Brazil 3-0

France took their first trophy by beating defending champions Brazil 3-0 on the Stade de France. A lot of the discuss within the hours earlier than the match was about star striker Ronaldo – who was awarded the Golden Ball as participant of the match – being omitted of the beginning line-up. He was later restored to the beginning XI earlier than kick-off. 

But it made little distinction as France ran out snug winners thanks to 2 targets from Zinedine Zidane and one from Emmanuel Petit. Regardless of a number of probabilities, Brazil failed to attain regardless of Marcel Desailly’s sending off at 68 minutes. 

South Korea/Japan 2002, June 30

Brazil beat Germany 2-0 

Ronaldo bounced again from the frustration of his debut ultimate in 1998, although, to play a number one position within the 2002 ultimate. 

His two second-half targets ended Germany’s hopes of taking a primary championship since competing underneath one flag and likewise secured Brazil’s document fifth title on the Worldwide Stadium in Yokohama. 

Germany 2006, July 9

Italy beat France 5-3 on penalties (1-1 AET)

Either side scored within the first 20 minutes, with France taking a seventh-minute lead by way of a Zinedine Zidane penalty. Italy equalised 12 minutes later by way of a Marco Materazzi – who had given away the penalty earlier on – header. 

The rating remained 1-1 on the finish of additional time, with neither aspect in a position to break by way of. Maybe probably the most exceptional second of the ultimate got here when Zidane was sent-off for an off-the-ball headbutt of Materazzi with simply 10 minutes of additional time remaining. 

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment