Home NewsAsia Bypoll Results 2021: Congress Sweeps Himachal, Boost For Gehlot Govt In Rajasthan

Bypoll Results 2021: Congress Sweeps Himachal, Boost For Gehlot Govt In Rajasthan

by admin

New Delhi: The Congress swept the Himachal Pradesh byelections Tuesday, successful all three Meeting segments and the Mandi Lok Sabha seat. 

In Rajasthan, the ruling Congress gained the bypolls to Vallabhnagar and Dhariawad Meeting constituencies.

Byelections had been performed on October 30 for 3 Lok Sabha seats — one every in Himachal, Madhya Pradesh, and the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli — and 29 Meeting constituencies throughout the nation final week.

The ruling BJP has gained massive in Assam, successful all 5 seats, whereas West Bengal noticed the Trinamool Congress rising victorious on the 4 seats that went to bypolls. The Northeast seats have gone to NDA candidates. 

The Shiv Sena, in the meantime, registered its first win exterior Maharashtra after social gathering candidate Kalaben Delkar gained the Dadra and Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha seat, defeating BJP’s Mahesh Gamit.

In Karnataka, the BJP gained the Sindgi meeting phase however misplaced the Hangal seat to Congress. The BJP additionally wrested the Prithvipur meeting seat from the Congress, the Election Fee mentioned. The counting of votes had been on within the Khandwa LS seat and different constituencies till the final studies got here in.

Himachal Congress Calls for CM Thakur’s Resignation On Ethical Grounds 

In Himachal Pradesh, the opposition Congress retained the Fatehpur and Arki seats and wrested Jubbal-Kotkhai from the BJP, apart from successful the Mandi LS seat.

In Mandi, Congress candidate Pratibha Singh, spouse of late chief minister Virbhadra Singh, defeated BJP’s Brigadier Khushal Chand Thakur, a Kargil struggle hero. The seat was gained by BJP’s Ram Swaroop Sharma within the 2019 parliamentary polls, by an enormous 4,05,000 votes.

The bypoll was held in Mandi resulting from Sharma’s demise in March.

Virbhadra Singh’s demise in July, in the meantime, triggered a bypoll for the Arki seat, which has been retained by the Congress with Sanjay Awasthy beating the BJP’s Rattan Singh Pal.

Jubbal-Kotkhai has been gained by Rohit Thakur of the Congress, who defeated the BJP’s Neelam Seraik. She could lose her deposit, in response to studies.

Sitting BJP MLA Narinder Bragta’s demise in June had necessitated the bypoll for this seat.

Congress’ Bhawani Singh Pathania defeated BJP’s Baldev Thakur in Fatehpur, a Congress bastion gained by his father Sujan Singh Pathania in 2016. The senior Pathania died in January this 12 months.

After the victory on 4 Himachal seats, the Congress demanded Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur’s resignation on ethical grounds, even because the BJP mentioned it is going to introspect the explanations of defeat, in response to a PTI report.

“Thakur even didn’t retain the BJP’s seat in his dwelling district Mandi,” Himachal Congress chief Kuldeep Singh Rathore mentioned, calling the bypolls “semifinal”.

He expressed confidence that the Congress would win the Meeting elections due subsequent 12 months.

In a tweet, Congress’ Himachal Pradesh affairs in-charge Sanjay Dutt mentioned: “It is a vote for change, towards the anti-people insurance policies of the BJP’s Union and Himachal Pradesh governments. It’s a mandate expressing folks’s solidarity with the pro-people stance of our leaders Soniaji and Rahul Gandhi ji.” 

CM Thakur, in the meantime, alleged that some BJP staff labored towards the social gathering candidates, and mentioned motion could be taken towards them.


“The BJP will introspect the causes which led to its defeat, will formulate a method to beat its shortcomings, and do every thing potential to make sure victory within the 2022 meeting elections,” he mentioned.

Increase For Gehlot Govt In Rajasthan

In Rajasthan, the BJP misplaced each the seats that went to bypolls. Its candidates stood third and fourth in Dhariawad and Vallabhnagar, respectively, because the Congress wrested the previous and retained the latter seat.

The Congress tally within the 200-member Rajasthan Meeting now stands at 108 MLAs towards the BJP’s 71.

In Dhariawad, Congress candidate Nagraj Meena gained by a margin of over 18,000 votes, defeating nearest rival Thawarchand, an Impartial candidate, in response to the Election Fee web site.

The seat was vacated after BJP MLA Gautam Meena died.

In Vallabhnagar, Preeti Shaktawat of the Congress defeated Rashtriya Loktantrik Celebration’s Udailal Dangi by over 20,000 votes.


You may also like

Leave a Comment