Home NewsAsia Meghalaya Polls: Congress Releases First List Of 55 Candidates

Meghalaya Polls: Congress Releases First List Of 55 Candidates

by admin

The Congress launched its first record of 55 candidates for the upcoming Meghalaya meeting elections on Wednesday.

news reels

Vincent H Pala, the occasion’s Meghalaya unit chief, has run for the Sungai Saipung (ST) constituency. Pala is Shillong’s Lok Sabha Member of Parliament.

Saleng A Sangma, who resigned from the NCP and joined the Congress on January 23, has been nominated to symbolize the Gambegre (ST) meeting constituency.

The primary record of candidates was launched on Wednesday following a gathering of the occasion’s central election committee chaired by occasion chief Mallikarjun Kharge.

On February 27, voting for the 60-member Meghalaya Legislative Meeting will happen in a single section. The votes might be counted on March 2.

In Meghalaya, the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) is led by the Nationwide Individuals’s Get together (NPP), which was recognised because the nationwide occasion in 2019. The ruling Nationwide Individuals’s Get together introduced candidates for 58 seats within the 60-member Meghalaya Legislative Meeting final week. Conrad Sangma, the Chief Minister, and occasion supremo will run from the Garo Hills seat of South Tura. He’s the present MLA for this seat. There are additionally six ladies candidates. Among the many different candidates are just a few defections from different events.

Sangma will run from South Tura within the West Garo Hills district, whereas his deputy Prestone Tynsong will run from Pynursla within the East Khasi Hills district.

The Trinamool Congress has already introduced 52 candidates for the state meeting election. Based on the information company IANS, the TMC’s energy within the 60-member Meeting has dropped to 9 after three of its MLAs left the occasion. The TMC leaders, alternatively, declare that 1000’s of NPP and different occasion supporters, together with some occasion leaders, have joined their occasion.

The NPP gained 19 seats within the final elections, forming the MDA with the HSDP, UDP, PDF, and BJP, denying Congress a second time period within the state.

Its important rival within the state is the TMC, led by former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma. Sangma, together with 11 different Congress MLAs, defected to the TMC final 12 months, making it the state’s important opposition occasion.

After profitable 21 seats within the 2018 elections, Congress turned the single-largest occasion.

(With Inputs From Businesses)


You may also like

Leave a Comment