Home NewsAsia Sansad Ratna Award 2023: Veteran CPI-M Leader TK Rangarajan Gets Lifetime Achievement Award

Sansad Ratna Award 2023: Veteran CPI-M Leader TK Rangarajan Gets Lifetime Achievement Award

by admin
Sansad Ratna Award 2023: Veteran CPI-M Leader TK Rangarajan Gets Lifetime Achievement Award

The names for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023 have been launched on Tuesday. A complete of 13 members of parliament and two parliamentary committees have been honoured with the accolade.

T Ok Rangarajan (two-term Rajya Sabha MP and outstanding CPI-M chief) has acquired the Sansad Ratna Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lok Sabha’s Parliamentary Committee on Finance, chaired by Jayant Sinha, and the Rajya Sabha’s Standing Committee on Tourism, Transport, and Tradition, chaired by Vijay Sai Reddy, have been additionally honoured with the Sansad Ratna Award.

13 MPs have been nominated for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023, together with Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, RJD’s Manoj Jha, and CPI-John M’s Brittas. The 13 MPs embrace eight from the Lok Sabha and 5 from the Rajya Sabha, in addition to three retired members, in line with the Prime Level Basis, which established the award.

Underneath the particular awards class, a jury committee directed by Union Minister of State Arjun Ram Meghwal and co-chaired by former Chief Election Commissioner of India S Krishnamurthy nominated two departmentally linked standing committees and a famend chief.

The committee is made up of distinguished legislators and members of civil society.

Amongst these nominated have been Bidyut Baran Mahato (BJP, Jharkhand), Dr Sukanta Majumdar (BJP, West Bengal), Kuldeep Rai Sharma (INC, Andaman Nicobar Islands), Dr Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (BJP, Maharashtra), Gopal Chinayya Shetty (BJP, Maharashtra), Sudhir Gupta (BJP, Madhya Pradesh) and Dr Amol Ramsing Kolhe (NCP, Maharashtra) for his or her efficiency within the seventeenth Lok Sabha beneath varied classes.

The nominations are based mostly on members’ complete efficiency in Questions, Non-public Members Payments, and initiated debates from the beginning of the seventeenth Lok Sabha till the tip of the Winter Session 2022.

The members’ efficiency knowledge was obtained from the PRS India, Lok Sabha, and Rajya Sabha Secretariats.

In 2022, the Basis and PreSense created a brand new class known as “Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Lifetime Achievement Award” to recognise skilled leaders who’ve made important contributions to Indian politics, society, and the folks.

In line with the Basis, the awards will likely be awarded on March 25 on behalf of civil society.

The Sansad Ratna Awards have been established on the suggestion of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam to recognise excellent Parliamentarians. In 2010, he hosted the maiden version of the award ceremony in Chennai. The award has been given to 90 excellent Parliamentarians thus far.

(With Inputs From PTI)


You may also like

Leave a Comment