Home Entertainment Triangle of Sadness takes four top prizes at European film awards

Triangle of Sadness takes four top prizes at European film awards

by admin

It was plain crusing at this yr’s European movie awards in Reykjavík for Triangle of Sadness, Ruben Ostlund’s luxurious yacht-set satire of western entitlement and self-regard, which gained finest movie in addition to three different main prizes.

The Swedish director, quick changing into an EFAs favorite, additionally took finest director and finest screenwriter so as to add to his six European awards for his 2017 art-world roast The Sq.. Veteran Croatian actor Zlatko Burić scooped finest actor for his function as a Russian fertiliser magnate who turns into an unlikely revolutionary aboard Ostlund’s puke-swilling ship of fools.

Zlatko Burić with his award.
Zlatko Burić along with his award. {Photograph}: Vittorio Zunino Celotto/Getty Photos

Ostlund absolutely would have appreciated the truth that the 35th awards, the primary bodily version for 3 years after the Covid pandemic, befell at Reykjavik’s Harpa Live performance Corridor, an upscale glass bastion on the Icelandic capital’s harbour with greater than a whiff of globalised privilege.

Nonetheless, after the previous couple of subdued ceremonies, this yr’s European movie awards renewed their status for direct political engagement; its conventional USP in comparison with the extra superficial Oscars.

Within the European co-production award, it confirmed its assist for Ukrainian film-makers throughout the present battle by recognising not one manufacturing, however the nation’s complete trade. Accepting the prize, producer Darya Bassel referred to Dziga Vertov’s 1929 experimental Man with a Film Digital camera, which although considered a Soviet basic was filmed partly in Kiev, Kharkiv and Odessa: Kiev and Odessa: “Its identification was stolen,” she claimed. “Identical to the identification of our tradition is below menace at the moment.”

The European Movie Academy doubled up on solidarity for Ukraine by giving finest documentary to Mariupol 2, whose Lithuanian director Mantas Kvedaravičius was allegedly killed by Russian forces in April. His daughter acquired a standing ovation as she informed visitors: “He misplaced his life within the sort of selflessness most of us can’t hope to attain, delivering drugs to folks.”

Teja Kvedaravičius with her father’s award.
Teja Kvedaravičius along with her father’s award. {Photograph}: Vittorio Zunino Celotto/Getty Photos

With Ukrainian cinema infrastructure now largely destroyed, Matthijs Wouter Knol, CEO and director of the European Movie Academy, spoke of the necessity not simply to rebuild for the nation’s film-makers, however to construct capability to assist European film-makers caught in any sort of battle zone.

A brand new award for sustainability went to the European Fee’s European Inexperienced Deal initiative, which goals to cut back emissions on the continent by 55% by 2030; by the funding arm Artistic Europe, it hopes to attain a portion of these from the movie and TV industries.

European Fee president Ursula von der Leyen recognised that, past tackling their carbon footprint, movie and tv had a number one function to play in mobilising the lots within the local weather disaster. “They’ll make folks embrace a trigger, and that’s what we’d like proper now. You could have the facility to alter hearts and minds,” Von der Leyen informed the assembled crowd.

However one of many award’s three presenters, a younger Icelander referred to as Vilhjálmur, warned that symbolic gestures had been inadequate and that cinema needed to make its dedication concrete. “It’s not adequate,” he identified. “Subsequent yr, we wish it to go to a selected manufacturing.” All of the youth-voted prizes had a radical urgency, with Jerzy Skolimowski’s psychedelic donkey odyssey EO taking the European college movie award and Cyril Dion’s anti-speciesist inquest Animal the younger viewers award.

Away from Triangle of Unhappiness’ clear sweep, Vicky Krieps took finest actress for her function as constrained 19th-century Empress Elisabeth of Austria in Marie Kreutzer’s Corsage. In the meantime, New German Cinema luminary Margarethe von Trotta grew to become the third girl within the awards’ 34-year historical past to win the lifetime achievement award, and Elia Suleiman supplied a rambling homily about his profession after bagging the world cinema achievement gong. European Movie Academy chairman Mike Downey was available to state his qualities extra exactly: “You ridicule statehood and ideologies, however you’re so tender with folks.”

Vicky Krieps is seen on a display via an online video transmission after winning best actress.
Vicky Krieps is seen on a show by way of a web based video transmission after successful finest actress. {Photograph}: Halldor Kolbeins/AFP/Getty Photos

Although Triangle of Unhappiness is technically a UK co-production, British cinema had a threadbare night time. It solely secured a brace of technical awards – manufacturing and costume design – for Kenneth Branagh’s autobiographical memoir Belfast, with Paul Mescal lacking out on finest actor for his efficiency in 90s drama Aftersun.

The socio-political seriousness was offset by concentrated doses of Icelandic quirk from its presenters, artist Hugleikur Dagsson and actor Ilmur Kristjánsdóttir, who cocking a snock on the uptight Oscars inspired winners to go so long as attainable of their speeches: “In the event you thank God, you additionally should thank the satan.” With a number of presenters struggling to prise open the successful envelopes, the Icelandic glue trade additionally acquired an surprising enhance.

Full listing of awards

Finest movie Triangle of Unhappiness

Finest comedy The Good Boss

European Discovery (Fipresci prize) Small Physique

Finest documentary Mariupolis 2

Finest animated function No Canine or Italians Allowed

Finest quick movie Granny’s Sexual Life

Finest director Ruben Ostlund, Triangle of Unhappiness

Finest actress Vicky Krieps, Corsage

Finest actor Zlatko Burić, Triangle of Unhappiness

Finest screenwriter Ruben Ostlund, Triangle of Unhappiness

Finest cinematography The Quiet Woman

Finest modifying Burning Days

Finest manufacturing design Belfast

Finest costume design Belfast

Finest hair & make-up All Quiet on the Western Entrance

Finest unique rating EO

Finest sound The Gap

Finest visible results All Quiet on the Western Entrance

EFA lifetime achievement award Margarethe von Trotta

European achievement in world cinema Elia Suleiman

European progressive storytelling Marco Bellocchio

European co-production award (Prix Eurimages) Ukraine

European college movie award EO

Younger viewers award Animal

Sustainability award European Inexperienced Deal

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment