Home Entertainment Triangle of Sadness takes four top prizes at European film awards

Triangle of Sadness takes four top prizes at European film awards

by admin

It was plain crusing at this yr’s European movie awards in Reykjavík for Triangle of Sadness, Ruben Ostlund’s luxurious yacht-set satire of western entitlement and self-regard, which gained greatest movie in addition to three different main prizes.

The Swedish director, quick turning into an EFAs favorite, additionally took greatest director and greatest screenwriter so as to add to his six European awards for his 2017 art-world roast The Sq.. Veteran Croatian actor Zlatko Burić scooped greatest actor for his position as a Russian fertiliser magnate who turns into an unlikely revolutionary aboard Ostlund’s puke-swilling ship of fools.

Zlatko Burić with his award.
Zlatko Burić together with his award. {Photograph}: Vittorio Zunino Celotto/Getty Photos

Ostlund certainly would have appreciated the truth that the 35th awards, the primary bodily version for 3 years after the Covid pandemic, came about at Reykjavik’s Harpa Live performance Corridor, an upscale glass bastion on the Icelandic capital’s harbour with greater than a whiff of globalised privilege.

However, after the previous few subdued ceremonies, this yr’s European movie awards renewed their repute for direct political engagement; its conventional USP in comparison with the extra superficial Oscars.

Within the European co-production award, it confirmed its assist for Ukrainian film-makers in the course of the present battle by recognising not one manufacturing, however the nation’s complete business. Accepting the prize, producer Darya Bassel referred to Dziga Vertov’s 1929 experimental Man with a Film Digital camera, which although considered a Soviet traditional was filmed partly in Kiev, Kharkiv and Odessa: Kiev and Odessa: “Its identification was stolen,” she claimed. “Similar to the identification of our tradition is beneath risk as we speak.”

The European Movie Academy doubled up on solidarity for Ukraine by giving greatest documentary to Mariupol 2, whose Lithuanian director Mantas Kvedaravičius was allegedly killed by Russian forces in April. His daughter acquired a standing ovation as she instructed visitors: “He misplaced his life within the form of selflessness most of us can’t hope to realize, delivering medication to individuals.”

Teja Kvedaravičius with her father’s award.
Teja Kvedaravičius together with her father’s award. {Photograph}: Vittorio Zunino Celotto/Getty Photos

With Ukrainian cinema infrastructure now largely destroyed, Matthijs Wouter Knol, CEO and director of the European Movie Academy, spoke of the necessity not simply to rebuild for the nation’s film-makers, however to construct capability to assist European film-makers caught in any form of battle zone.

A brand new award for sustainability went to the European Fee’s European Inexperienced Deal initiative, which goals to scale back emissions on the continent by 55% by 2030; by means of the funding arm Artistic Europe, it hopes to realize a portion of these from the movie and TV industries.

European Fee president Ursula von der Leyen recognised that, past tackling their carbon footprint, movie and tv had a number one position to play in mobilising the plenty within the local weather disaster. “They’ll make individuals embrace a trigger, and that’s what we want proper now. You’ve gotten the ability to vary hearts and minds,” Von der Leyen instructed the assembled crowd.

However one of many award’s three presenters, a younger Icelander known as Vilhjálmur, warned that symbolic gestures have been inadequate and that cinema needed to make its dedication concrete. “It’s not adequate,” he identified. “Subsequent yr, we would like it to go to a particular manufacturing.” All of the youth-voted prizes had a radical urgency, with Jerzy Skolimowski’s psychedelic donkey odyssey EO taking the European college movie award and Cyril Dion’s anti-speciesist inquest Animal the younger viewers award.

Away from Triangle of Unhappiness’ clear sweep, Vicky Krieps took greatest actress for her position as constrained 19th-century Empress Elisabeth of Austria in Marie Kreutzer’s Corsage. In the meantime, New German Cinema luminary Margarethe von Trotta turned the third lady within the awards’ 34-year historical past to win the lifetime achievement award, and Elia Suleiman supplied a rambling homily about his profession after bagging the world cinema achievement gong. European Movie Academy chairman Mike Downey was readily available to state his qualities extra exactly: “You ridicule statehood and ideologies, however you’re so tender with individuals.”

Vicky Krieps is seen on a display via an online video transmission after winning best actress.
Vicky Krieps is seen on a show through a web-based video transmission after profitable greatest actress. {Photograph}: Halldor Kolbeins/AFP/Getty Photos

Although Triangle of Unhappiness is technically a UK co-production, British cinema had a threadbare night time. It solely secured a brace of technical awards – manufacturing and costume design – for Kenneth Branagh’s autobiographical memoir Belfast, with Paul Mescal lacking out on greatest actor for his efficiency in 90s drama Aftersun.

The socio-political seriousness was offset by concentrated doses of Icelandic quirk from its presenters, artist Hugleikur Dagsson and actor Ilmur Kristjánsdóttir, who cocking a snock on the uptight Oscars inspired winners to go so long as doable of their speeches: “If you happen to thank God, you additionally need to thank the satan.” With a number of presenters struggling to prise open the profitable envelopes, the Icelandic glue business additionally acquired an surprising enhance.

Full listing of awards

Greatest movie Triangle of Unhappiness

Greatest comedy The Good Boss

European Discovery (Fipresci prize) Small Physique

Greatest documentary Mariupolis 2

Greatest animated characteristic No Canine or Italians Allowed

Greatest quick movie Granny’s Sexual Life

Greatest director Ruben Ostlund, Triangle of Unhappiness

Greatest actress Vicky Krieps, Corsage

Greatest actor Zlatko Burić, Triangle of Unhappiness

Greatest screenwriter Ruben Ostlund, Triangle of Unhappiness

Greatest cinematography The Quiet Lady

Greatest modifying Burning Days

Greatest manufacturing design Belfast

Greatest costume design Belfast

Greatest hair & make-up All Quiet on the Western Entrance

Greatest unique rating EO

Greatest sound The Gap

Greatest visible results All Quiet on the Western Entrance

EFA lifetime achievement award Margarethe von Trotta

European achievement in world cinema Elia Suleiman

European modern storytelling Marco Bellocchio

European co-production award (Prix Eurimages) Ukraine

European college movie award EO

Younger viewers award Animal

Sustainability award European Inexperienced Deal

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment